Meet the Faculty.

 

Meet the Faculty

Wendy Kolmar

Professor of English; Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies

Office:  Sitterly House 106 
Phone:  973-408-3632
Emailwkolmar@drew.edu
Education:  A.B., Bryn Mawr College, 1972; Ph.D., Indiana University, 1992

Biography:  Wendy Kolmar is Professor of English and of  Women’s and Gender Studies. She teaches courses on feminist theory and the history of feminist thought, Victorian literature, women and literature, gothic and supernatural literature, film and literary criticism. She serves regularly as a consultant and reviewer for women’s and gender studies programs around the country and also served for many years on various governing bodies of the National Women’s Studies Association.  Her publications include Haunting the House of Fiction: Feminist Perspectives on Ghost Stories by American Women (with Lynette Carpenter ‑‑ 1991); Creating an Inclusive College Curriculum: A Teaching Source Book from the New Jersey Project (edited with Ellen G. Friedman, Charley B. Flint, and Paula Rothenberg — 1996); A Selected Annotated Bibliography of Ghost Stories by British and American Women Writers (with Lynette Carpenter –1998); Feminist Theory: A Reader ( with Fran Batkowski, now in its fourth edition.) and a special issue of Women’s Studies Quarterly, entitled Looking Across the Lens: Women’s  Studies and Film.


Carolina Arango-Vargas

Visiting Assistant Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies

Office:  Faulkner House, 7
Phone: 973-408-3340
Emailcarangovargas@drew.edu
Education:  B.A. National University of Colombia, 2004; M.A. Syracuse University 2011; Ph.D. Syracuse University, 2018

Biography: Carolina is a Visiting Assistant Professor at Drew University and she teaches in Women’s and Gender Studies and Anthropology.  She is interested in transnational, women of color, and global south feminisms, particularly in Latin America. She has conducted ethnographic research with organizations of the Colombian Women’s Movement and with rural communities impacted by the armed conflict. Carolina aims to better understand the processes of collaboration between feminist NGOs and grassroots organizations, including the feminist discourse that activists use to transform the lives of working class and rural women victims of political violence. Building on methods and theories of political and feminist anthropology, she examines these processes against the larger histories of colonialism, the ideologies of race, class, and gender, and the legacy of various Latin American social movements on contemporary feminist activism. Drawing on postcolonial and decolonial approaches, she explores hidden forms of political agency and resistance.

In connection to grassroots women’s organizing, she is interested in a number of related themes including justice, peace, and reparation, trauma and memory, rural development, ecofeminism, and the politics of gossip. Overall, through her teaching and research she seeks to highlight the possibilities of popular feminisms and other bottom-up approaches to social justice in the Global South.


 Affiliated Faculty

Instructor Department Contact
Di Bai Chinese x3427
dbai@drew.edu
Frances Bernstein History x3542
fbernste@drew.edu
Marc Boglioli Anthropology x3363
mbogliol@drew.edu
Lisa Brenner Theatre Arts x3998
lbrenner@drew.edu
Jill Cermele Psychology x3849
jcermele@drew.edu
Summer Harrison English/Environmental Studies x3217
sharrison@drew.edu
Shakti Jaising English x3915
sjaising@drew.edu
Melanie Johnson-DeBaufre Theological x3823
mjohnso@drew.edu
Rita Keane Art History x3331
mkeane@drew.edu
Catherine Keller Theological x3268
ckeller@drew.edu
Caitlin Killian Sociology x3183
ckillian@drew.edu
Peggy Kuntz Art History x3796
mkuntz@drew.edu
Jinee Lokaneeta Political Science x3430
jlokanee@drew.edu
Rosemary McLaughlin Theatre Arts x3249
rmclaugh@drew.edu
Kesha Moore Sociology x3170
kmoore@drew.edu
Jennifer Olmsted Economics x3417
jolmsted@drew.edu
Karen Pechilis Religious Studies x3124
kpechili@drew.edu
Marie-Pascale Pieretti French x3506
mpierett@drew.edu
Kim Rhodes Art History x3757
krhodes@drew.edu
Raul Rosales Spanish x3751
rrosales@drew.edu
Susan Rosenbloom Sociology x3335
srosenbl@drew.edu
Maliha Safri Economics x3202
msafri@drew.edu
Leslie Sprout Music x3950
lsprout@drew.edu
Sharon Sundue History x3171
ssundue@drew.edu
Jesse Todd Theological x3847
jtodd@drew.edu
Traci West Theological x3082
twest@drew.edu