The Jim M. O’Kane Award

Established in 2005 to honor Professor of Sociology James M. O’Kane’s long and devoted service to Drew University. Awarded to a sociology major of good character who has done outstanding work in the discipline.

  • 2014 Leah Zarra and Maddie Wenz
  • 2013 Maeve Oleny
  • 2012 Maeve Olney and Marissa Katherine DeAnna
  • 2011 Sunita Bhargava, Katherine Bitgood, and Noah Rich
  • 2010 Katherine Bitgood
  • 2009 Richard C. Villa
  • 2008 Paige Weller and Emily Smylka
  • 2007 Melanie Sullo and Astrid Spota
  • 2006 Laura Moss and M. Clare Tyson
  • 2005 Sarah Bergman

The Class of 1988 Award

Endowed by the Senior Gift Fund of the Class of 1988. Awarded to a senior in the sociology department who has done significant work in one of the area studies programs.

  • 2014 Valerie Dohrer
  • 2013 Julia Friedman
  • 2012 Elizabeth Alison Garceau
  • 2011 Candace Martin and Jennifer Nikola
  • 2010 Olivia Harris and Jennifer Nikola
  • 2009 Christa A. Hendrickson
  • 2008 Adela Effendy
  • 2007 Georgia Fowler
  • 2006 Eric Rothman
  • 2005 Jennifer Siaca

Elbridge and Edna Smith Prize

Endowed in 2008 by Elbridge M. Smith C’35 and Edna W. Smith.  Awarded to a student of outstanding achievement, majoring or intending to major in sociology or French, who have not yet begun their senior year. (This award rotates every year with the French department).

  • 2014 May Manalo
  • 2012 Andrew Timothy McGibbon