Bela Kornitzer Book Awards

Congratulations to Professor Sharon Sundue and Dr. Robert McParland, G’05, winners of the Bela Kornitzer awards for outstanding non-fiction books. Non-fiction books published in 2009 and 2010 were eligible for the 2010 prize competition. Two prizes were awarded—one to a Drew Graduate and one to a member of the Drew Faculty. The awards were announced at the January 29, 2011 biennial Library Gala by Dean of Libraries Andrew Scrimgeour and presented by Noémi K. Neidorff, who paid tribute to her uncle and to her parents, who established the award in his name.

Faculty Award

Dr. Sharon Sundue, Associate Professor of History
Industrious in Their Stations: Young People at Work in Urban America, 1720-1820 (University of Virginia Press, 2009)

Alumni Award

Dr. Robert McParland, G’05, Associate Professor of English, Felician College
Charles Dickens’s American Audience (Rowman & Littlefield, 2010)

The Kornitzer Prize Endowment was established eighteen years ago at Drew by the late Alicia Kornitzer Karpati and her husband George Karpati to honor Bela Kornitzer, Mrs. Karpati’s brother, for his achievements as a journalist and author in Hungary and the United States. Drew University Library houses among its special collections the Bela Kornitzer Collection