Please join the Center for Civic Engagement in Congratulating the 2014 winners of Drew University’s Civic Engagement Awards:

Faculty Leadership Award

The Faculty Leadership Award is given to a full-time faculty member in any school of Drew University who has demonstrated commitment to civic engagement through advocacy, teaching, or project development.

  • Professor Wendy Kolmar, Professor of English

Staff Leadership Award

The Staff Leadership Award is given to a full-time staff member who has developed or supported opportunities for the Drew community to participate in activities that benefit others

  • Tina Notas, Campus Sustainability Coordinator

Collaborative Action Award

The Collaborative Action Award is given to a student organization that leads an effective collaboration among multiple university groups to accomplish a community service project outside the university.

  • The Volunteer Resource Center (VRC)

Ben Salmon Award

The Ben Salmon Service Recognition Award was created by the Volunteer Resource Center (VRC) to honor those students who enhance the campus through volunteerism and extra-curricular involvement, while augmenting their Drew experience with off-campus service. The award’s standards were set to reflect those of the VRC’s student founder, Ben Salmon (CLA ’03), who worked with the American Red Cross while building the coalition that created the VRC.

  • Kristina Farmer C’14

The Graduate Student Community Action Award

The Graduate Student Community Action Award is awarded to a student enrolled in the Theological School or the Caspersen School of Graduate Studies who has benefited a community outside of Drew by integrating an academic or creative endeavor with community engagement.

  • Elena Cusmir

Creative Community Award

The Creative Community Award is given to an individual or group in the Drew University community that shows unusual creativity or innovation in pursuit of a community service or civic engagement project benefitting a community outside of Drew.

  • Dr. Marion A. Bolden Student Center Drama Program, Newark Public Schools

Thomas D. Sayles Jr. Student Award for Outstanding Service to the Community

Thomas D. Sayles Jr. Student Award for Outstanding Service to the Community is awarded annually to up to two junior or senior undergraduate students, who, like the award’s namesake, have demonstrated an exceptional commitment and unselfish dedication to Drew and to the larger community through exemplary service.

  • Carolina Caicedo C’15
  • Lucianna Silvestri C’14