The 1983 Drew University Field Hockey Team burst onto the national scene. Led by Drew Hall of Fame coach Maureen Horan, the Rangers won a program-record 19 games and clinched the program’s first NCAA Tournament berth. The Rangers began the season by winning the Drew Invitational Tournament with wins over Marywood University and Johns Hopkins University. From that point, they went on to win five of the next six games.

Competing in the Middle Atlantic Conference, the Rangers went unblemished with a 4-0 record. The Rangers were paired with Dickinson College in the first round of the league playoffs and defeated the Red Devils, 2-0. In the semifinals, the Rangers got past Elizabethtown College 2-1, earning them a spot in their first ever conference championship game. Awaiting them in the conference championship was two-time defending champion Franklin & Marshall College. The game needed overtime and eventually penalty strokes for the Rangers to take home their first conference crown.

The victory earned the Rangers the #3 seed in the NCAA National Tournament where they faced off against local rival Kean University; the Rangers cruised to a 4-0 victory. In the quarterfinals, the same Franklin & Marshall team would get their revenge in a 2-1 victory and go on to win the third place game later in the year. Captain Sally Jo Placa Madsen ‘85 was selected to her second All-America team and Carolyn Kerby was honored with her first selection. Junior Beth Cacossa Madsen ‘85 finished the year with 17 goals, one shy of her own school record at the time. Her 39 points in 1983 were the most ever in school history.

The 1983 Rangers set the bar for the future field hockey teams in Madison and helped put Drew field hockey on the national map.