Board of Trustees


Board of Trustees

Membership on the Drew University Board of Trustees is one of the highest honors that Drew can bestow upon an individual. Election to the board indicates that an individual has made a significant contribution to his or her community, has made noteworthy achievements in the service of society, and is capable of making equally important contributions to the university and to higher education.

2020–21 Board Roster


  • Bishop Thomas J. Bickerton
  • Scott Burr C’84, P’21
  • Dean T. Criares C’85
  • Alfred T. Day III
  • D. Stuart Dunnan
  • Robert Franek C’93
  • William M. Freeman C’74, Vice Chair and Secretary
  • Fredrick Fuest C’68, P’02,’08, Vice Chair
  • Angela B. Gerken P’15
  • Gregory H. Gordon C’92
  • Michelle Hampton C’85
  • William T. Knox P’96
  • Gaetana A. Kopchinsky C’06, G’08,’11
  • William W. Landis III C’85, Chair
  • Hwain C. Lee T’99
  • Sanjay Mirchandani C’86
  • Jeffrey B. Noss C’75
  • Joseph C. Noto C’95
  • Andres Peñate P’18
  • Bishop John Schol
  • Thomas J. Schwarz, Interim President
  • Chris Smith C’91
  • Vanessa L. Van Brunt C’92
  • James Van Schaick T’05
  • Suneet Varma
  • Jennifer Velez C’87

Trustees Emeriti

  • Lewis D. Andrews, Jr. C’68
  • C.W. Carson, Jr.
  • Raymond G. Chambers
  • John H. Crawford III T’65
  • Hugh A. D’Andrade
  • John H. Evans
  • Michele E. Fabrizio C’73
  • Bishop Ernest S. Lyght T’68
  • Elizabeth H. Marsh G’83,’90,’91
  • Heath B. McLendon
  • Eugene I. Meyers P’88,’90
  • Nancy W. Priest C’83, P’86
  • Nancy S. Schaenen
  • Mary A. Stringfield C’70
  • Shirley Sugerman G’70
  • Edward J. Wynne, Jr. T’62

An italicized name indicates that this trustee has passed away.