Our Ph.D. Students

 

Our PhD Students

Elyse Ambrose

Email Address: eambrose@drew.edu
Program Area: Religion & Society, ABD
Dissertation Title: “Black Queer Ethics: Integrative Communality as Liberative Christian Sexual Ethics”
Research Interests: Christian sexual ethics; Black queer ethics; Black feminism; Womanism; Black modernists; Black religious histories; Afro-diasporic spiritualities
Professional Website: elyseambrose.com


Michael Anderson

Email Address: manderson3@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Friendship, desire, and intimacy; Philosophy of Emotions; World-making and world-building; Aesthetics; Ethics; Popular Culture; Animal Studies


Hunter Bragg

Email Address: hbragg@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Subjectivity; Language and its relation to subject formation; Søren Kierkegaard; Apophatic Theology; Philosophical Theology


Benjamin Bixler

Email Address: bbixler@drew.edu
Program Area: Bible & Cultures
Research Interests: Identity formation in the Hebrew Bible; Gospels; Popular Culture; Critical Race Theory; Masculinity; Anabaptist/Mennonite Theology; Pedagogy
Professional Website: https://drew.academia.edu/BenjaminBixler


Desmond D. Coleman

Email Address: dcoleman@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Philosophical and Political Idealism; Africana Studies; Performance Studies


Gabriel C. Crooks

Email Address: gcrooks@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies, ABD
Research Interests: Theological Imagination; Gender-based violence; Genocide and Holocaust Studies; Pedagogy; Historical Theology


Ericka Shawndricka Dunbar

Email Address: edunbar@drew.edu
Program Area: Bible & Cultures, ABD
Dissertation Title: “Trafficking Hadassah: An Africana Reading of Collective Trauma, Memory and Identity in the Book of Esther”
Research Interests: Religion and Social Change; Africana Biblical Studies; Africana Diaspora Studies; Trauma Studies; Ethics; Cultural Studies; Women’s Studies; Gender-based violence; Women and children in the Bible; Human trafficking discourses; the role and impact of religion on individual and collective/cultural identities


Hilary Floyd

Email Address: hfloyd@drew.edu
Program Area: Bible & Cultures
Research Interests: Economics and the New Testament; Parables; Women in the Greco-Roman world


Eun Han

Email Address: ehan@drew.edu
Program Area: Bible & Cultures
Research Interests: Postcolonial Biblical Criticism; Memory Theory


Simeiqi He

Email Address: she1@drew.edu
Program Area: Religion & Society
Research Interests: Chinese Catholicism; Christian Ethics of Marriage and Family
Professional Website: https://drew.academia.edu/SimeiqiHe


Wren Hillis

Email Address: lhillis@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Political Theology; Religion, Politics & Economics; Methodist & Wesleyan Studies


Nicholas A. Johnson

Email Address: njohnson2@drew.edu
Program Area: Bible & Cultures
Research Interests: Pauline epistles; Revelation; Early Christian history; Intersections of Africana, postcolonial, and New Testament studies


Eunchul Jung

Email Address: ejung@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Free will; Subjectivity; Consciousness; the Unconscious; Fantasy; Reverie; Criticism of civilization


Patrick A. Kelly

Email Address: pkelly1@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Environmental & Ecological Ethics; Roman Catholic theology; Roman Catholic Social Teaching; Critical Theory; Continental Philosophy; Marxism; Feminism & Ecofeminism; Gender Studies


Minenhle Nomalungelo Khumalo

Program Area: Bible & Cultures
Research Interests: Afro-pessimism; Afro-futurism; Literary Theory; Africana Biblical Hermeneutics; Aesthetics of Violence; Queer Theory; Marxism


Alice Kim

Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies, ABD
Dissertation Title: “Traumatic Affect Theology: A Transformative Religious and Political Response to Trauma”
Research Interests: Process Philosophy; Reformed Theology; Trauma Studies; Genocide and Holocaust Studies; Affect Theory; Philosophical Ethics; Political Theology


Tsz Him Lai

Email Address: tlai@drew.edu
Program Area: Religion & Society
Research Interests: Liberation and Postcolonial theologies; Christian Social Ethics; the Theology of Martin Luther King, Jr. and Oscar Romero; Asian and Hong Kong Christianity


Seong Hyun Rohe-Lee

Email Address: 777slee@gmail.com
Program Area: Religion & Society
Research Interests: Ambivalence of Empathy; Vulnerability; Ambivalence of Motherhood; Korean/Korean American women; D.W. Winnicott; Ethics of Care; Wesleyan Theology; Self-sacrifice and self-love imposed on women in Christianity
Professional Website: www.linkedin.com/in/seong-hyun-rohe-lee


Jennifer Maidrand

Email Address: jmaidrand@drew.edu
Program Area: Bible & Cultures
Research Interests: Hebrew Bible; Ecological Hermeneutics & Theology; Womanist & Feminist Hermeneutics; Geo-politics of Israel/Palestine


 

abby mohaupt

Email Address: amohaupt@drew.edu
Program Area: Religion & Society
Research Interests: Ecofeminism; Race Theory; Environmentalism in the United States; Reformed Theology; Embodied Pedagogy; Decolonization; Social Movements


Sarah O’Brien

Email Address: sarahbethob@gmail.com
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Phenomenology; Environmental Philosophy (ethics) and Theology; Ecofeminist Philosophies and Theologies, including the Posthuman Turn; Philosophy of Law; Gender and gender-based violence; Climate change (mitigation, adaptation, and sustainability practices)
Professional Website: http://www.sarahbethobrien.com/


D. Scott Ostlund

Email Address: dostlund@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Christian Theological Ethics; Critical White Studies; U.S. Evangelical Studies; Liberation Theologies; Wesleyan-Methodist Studies


Dawrell Rich

Email Address: drich@drew.edu
Program Area: Religion & Society
Research Interests: Religion and Ecology; Sociology of Religion; Environmental Justice; Social Movement Theory; Urban Studies; Black Church Studies; Black Liberation Theology
Professional Website: https://www.dawrellrich.com/


Lauren D. Sawyer

Email Address: lsawyer@drew.edu
Program Area: Religion & Society
Research Interests: Feminist & Womanist social ethics; Sexual ethics; Youth and young adults; Evangelical purity culture
Professional Website: http://laurendsawyer.com/


Elizabeth Siegelman

Email Address: esiegelman@drew.edu
Program Area: Bible & Cultures
Research Interests: Literary trauma theory; Women, gender, and sexuality in the Hebrew Bible; Intersections of psychology and religion.


Max Thornton

Email Address: mthornton@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Disability, gender, queer, and trans studies; Theological anthropology; Science and technology


Sin Lung Tong

Program Area: Bible & Cultures
Research Interests: Hebrew Bible; Narrative Criticism; Affect Theory; Poststructuralism; Postcolonialism


AJ Turner

Email Address: aturner1@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Psychology of Religion; Epistemology; William James; Religious Naturalism; Sociocultural Psychoanalysis


O’neil Van Horn

Email Address: ovanhorn@drew.edu
Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Ecotheology; Political Theology; Process Philosophy; Poststructuralism; New Materialisms; Critical Race Studies; Queer Theory
Professional Website: http://ovanhorn.com


Kelsey Erin Wallace

Email Address: kwallace1@drew.edu
Program Area: Bible & Cultures
Research Interests: Narratives of violence; Grief and cultural memory; Gender and sexuality; Hebrew Bible; Pop Culture
Professional Website: http://www.kelseyerinwallace.com/


Émile H. Wayne

Program Area: Theological & Philosophical Studies
Research Interests: Philosophy of Religion; Phenomenology; Religion and Ecology; Aesthetics; Queer Theory
Professional Website: https://emilehartwayne.wordpress.com/


Susan Woolever

Email Address: swoolever@drew.edu
Program Area: Religion & Society, ABD
Research Interests: Christian Social Ethics, Religious Ethics, Childist and Feminist Theory