Drew’s Master of Arts in Teaching Program Earns Nat’l Accreditation, Of …

Madison, N.J. – A national education accreditation organization has given Drew’s MAT program a lengthy review and awarded it a five-year initial accreditation, which is the longest duration given by the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) for newly accredited programs. The accreditation from TEAC, which was announced last month, is the culmination of a three-year application process that evaluated everything from Drew’s MAT curriculum to the hiring rate of its graduates. “This is the crowning moment for this program since its inception,” said Stephanie Koprowski-McGowan, MAT program director. “It further demonstrates Drew’s commitment to the outstanding preparation of teachers for private and public schools in New Jersey and in other states.” One thing that sets Drew apart from other MAT programs is that Drew’s students take an additional nine credits of intensive graduate-level study in their individual subject areas—something not required in other programs. That makes Drew’s future teachers more knowledgeable and better prepared than their peers, said Robert Ready, dean of the Caspersen School of Graduate Studies. “They are valued in the marketplace because of this,” he said. “It goes beyond the state’s expectation.” Drew’s Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) program is so exceptional, its administrators say, that […]

5 years ago via Drew News
Drew’s Top Profs

The university names its 2014 professors of the year in the Theo School, Caspersen and CLA at Commencement. With so many outstanding professors at Drew, it’s hard to narrow down the field, but three exceptional individuals were given Teacher of the Year accolades at Drew’s commencement on May 17. These teachers were chosen by their deans or the university president based on performance and student evaluations. The Rev. Dr. Traci West, a professor of ethics and African-American studies, was awarded the Scholar/Teacher of the Year for the Drew Theological School. A former pastor, she remains an ordained elder in the New York Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church and is a popular public speaker  and author. She is also the author of several books and articles. In her remarks about West, President Vivian A. Bull said, who presented the award on behalf of the UMC General Board of Higher Education and Ministry, “She is known as a teacher who presents difficult issues and empowers her students to think for themselves, to challenge one another and build their own ethical framework.” Theo School Interim Dean Virginia Samuel T’75 went on about West, “She is exceptionally good at combining her knowledge […]

5 years ago via Drew News
Drew Professor, Alumna Tapped to Lead Theological School During Search for …

Ginny Samuel will head ongoing effort to reconceive M.Div.

6 years ago via Drew News
Justin Marcucci (left) and business associates in their Mendham, NJ, headquarters.
Alumnus Makes an Art of Apps and Online Designs

Justin Marcucci's interactive design and marketing firm has global clients and Drew roots.

8 years ago via Drew News
Are You a Mac or PC?

Drew technology to give students a choice -- Apple Macbook added to CI lineup.

8 years ago via Drew News
Board Acts to Extend President’s Contract

Weisbuch sets his sights on enacting the university's strategic plan.

8 years ago via Drew News
Improving Clergy Health, Step by Step

Christopher Lee walks the equivalent of 716 miles to win the Deans' Step-It-Up Challenge.

8 years ago via Drew News
Outlook for Egypt

Prof. Saad Eddin Ibrahim, just back from Cairo, shares his thoughts on the revolution and beyond as part of a CRCC panel.

8 years ago via Drew News
Honorary Degree Candidates Announced

Civil rights pioneer, influential business advocate and former Theological School dean to receive honorary doctorate of humane letters.

8 years ago via Drew News
Author Annette Gordon-Reed (right) with Lillie Edwards, professor of history. Photo by Debbie Weisman.
Library Gala Speaker Gives Sally Hemings an Identity

2010 Kornitzer Award winners announced.

8 years ago via Drew News