Nikki Hoskins is pursuing a PhD in Christian social ethics.
Nikki Hoskins is pursuing a PhD in Christian social ethics.

Nikki Hoskins is school’s fifth FTE fellow in two years.

May 2017 – Drew Theological School student Nikki Hoskins earned a national fellowship from the Forum for Theological Exploration, becoming the school’s fifth FTE fellow in the past two years.

Since 2007, 12 Theological School students have earned 16 FTE fellowships, with three students earning more than one (see list below). Hoskins is among just 16 fellows selected this year.

The fellowship provides stipends to doctoral students from underrepresented racial and ethnic groups who plan to teach religion, biblical studies or theology at seminaries in North America.

“I am incredibly grateful to have been selected,” Hoskins said. “This award not only provides me with the resources to pursue my research, but also connects me to a diverse network of theological education scholars and professionals committed to my growth as a scholar and activist.”

Patrick Reyes, director of strategic partnerships for doctoral initiatives at FTE, described this year’s fellows as “rising scholars who are making an impact in theological and religious studies and in their local communities.”

Hoskins, who is pursuing a PhD in Christian social ethics, also was recognized at the Theological School’s annual honors ceremony last month. The school awarded her the Maxine Clarke Beach Leadership Prize for the Outstanding Student-Teacher, which celebrates a PhD student who has demonstrated exceptional ability, dedication and promise as a teacher.

Before entering the seminary, Hoskins earned a BA in religious studies from Spelman College and a MDiv from Harvard Divinity School. At the Theological School, she credits her advisor and mentor Traci West and professors Kate Ott, Catherine Keller, Elias Ortega-Aponte and Kesha Moore for her academic success.

Past Forum Fellowship Winners


Ericka Dunbar
Erica Ramirez
Eric Thomas


Dong Hyeon Jeong


Erica Ramirez


Jennifer Kaalund
Robert Wafula


Tejai Beulah
Shanell Smith
Peter Mena


David Evans


Shanell Smith


Lynne S. Darden
Shanell Smith
Sakena Young-Scaggs