Award-winning poet C.K. Williams will read from his work on Saturday, June 27, at 7 p.m. The reading is part of Drew University’s MFA in Poetry and Poetry in Translation June residency and reading series.

The 10-day residency will culminate with a celebration of Williams, who has won the Pulitzer Prize, National Book Award and National Book Critics Circle Award. On June 27, Williams will be interviewed, a panel discussing his work will take place and after his reading, there will be a reception. Gerald Stern, a Frost Medal winner, will also read as part of the evening.

Stern holds the post of Distinguished Poet-in-Residence for Drew’s MFA in Poetry program and is a former Poet Laureate of New Jersey. He has won numerous accolades, including the Poetry Society of America’s top prize, the Frost Medal.

Twice a year, Drew University offers a free evening poetry reading series open to the public as part of its low-residency MFA in Poetry program, the only one of it kind in the country. The evening readings showcase faculty from the program, all of whom are award-winning published poets. The public readings begin at 7 p.m. each appointed night, and are held at Mead Hall.

The schedule is as follows:

  • Saturday, June 20: Ira Sadoff and Judith Vollmer
  • Sunday, June 21: Sean Nevin, Jody Gladding and Shara McCallum
  • Monday, June 22: Michael Waters and Ellen Dore Watson
  • Tuesday, June 23: Sarah Vap and Mihaela Moscaliuc
  • Thursday, June 25: Anne Marie Macari
  • Saturday, June 27: C.K. Williams and Gerald Stern

Visit the program website for more information on this year’s poetry residency program.