World-class Lincoln Center ensemble’s seventh season in residence in Madison will feature three exciting performances beginning this fall.

MADISON, NJ—The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS), which features some of the world’s foremost classical musicians, returns for its seventh year in residency in the Concert Hall at Drew University with an exciting three-concert season beginning this fall. Performances will be held on October 20, 2012; February 4, 2013; and April 15, 2013.

“Drew’s partnership with the CMS not only enriches music education for our students, but also offers local residents an opportunity to experience world-class performances in Madison,” said University President for the Interim Term Vivian A. Bull. “The 2012-13 season of concerts matches the extraordinary quality of the CMS’ prior performances at Drew, and is sure to delight all members of the audience.”

According to CMS Artistic Co-Director David Finckel, a Madison native, the three concerts at Drew will offer rare pairings of artists and compositions, adding to the excitement of the series.

“We have chosen specifically for our loyal listeners in New Jersey an extraordinary range of composers, ensembles and artists not to be heard anywhere else, and we personally look forward to once again connecting to our Madison roots through the profoundly intimate art of chamber music,” he said.

The schedule of 2012-13 CMS performances includes (subject to change):

  • Young Beethoven – October 20, 2012
    Beethoven Trio in G major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 1, No. 2 (1794-95)
    Beethoven Serenade in D major for Flute, Violin, and Viola, Op. 25 (1801)
    Beethoven Quintet in C major for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello, Op. 29 (1801)
    CMS Artists: Anne-Marie McDermott, piano; Cho-Liang Lin, violin; Areta Zhulla, violin; Daniel Phillips, violin; Paul Neubauer, viola; Fred Sherry, cello; and Tara Helen O’Connor, flute.
  • Winter Winds – February 4, 2013
    Poulenc Trio for Oboe, Bassoon, and Piano (1926)
    Canteloube Rustiques for Oboe, Clarinet, and Bassoon (1946)
    Milhaud La cheminée du roi René, Suite for Woodwind Quintet, Op. 205 (1939)
    Ligeti Six Bagatelles for Wind Quintet (1953)
    Mozart Quintet in E-flat major for Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, and Piano, K. 452 (1784)
    CMS Artists: Gilles Vonsattel, piano; Tara Helen O’Connor, flute; Stephen Taylor, oboe; David Shifrin, clarinet; Peter Kolkay, bassoon; and William Purvis, horn.
  • Death and the Maiden – April 15, 2013
    Schubert Quartet in A minor for Strings, D. 804, Op. 29 (1824)
    Dean Epitaphs for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello (2010)
    Schubert Quartet in D minor for Strings, D. 810, “Death and the Maiden” (1824)
    CMS Artists: Brett Dean, viola, and the Orion String Quartet.

Single-event tickets to the 2012-13 season of CMS performances at Drew are $55. Three-concert subscriptions are available for $144, which is a 15 percent discount off the total cost of admission. A limited number of single-event tickets are available to students (with ID) for $15. For more information, or to purchase subscriptions or tickets, please visit or call the Drew University Box Office at 973.408.3917.