Workshops

Workshops.

Training workshops are one of the ways in which ITUS supports technology use at Drew. Workshops are held on a variety of topics ranging from Google Drive, Mail and Calendar to Moodle and Microsoft Office. Workshops are announced by email and/or the Drew Today to the appropriate audiences and through University Technology Twitter and Facebook. When open lab training sessions or workshops are scheduled, they will also be posted on this page.

Do you have feedback on a workshop you attended? Please fill out our survey! http://tinyurl.com/drew-workshops


Workshop Schedule

This Fall, we are offering each workshop as both an in-person event and an online webinar. If there are enough attendees for the webinars, we will record and share after the fact.

All in-person workshops are held in the Library/UT Classroom in the Academic Commons (main floor of the Library).

The webinars will be held at https://drew.zoom.us/j/686651665. Please see the calendar appointment for more information.

To register, simply add the appointment for the workshop you plan to attend to your Google calendar by clicking on the appropriate button below!

Moodle Basics

Faculty can learn the basics of managing their Moodle sites, touching on topics such as adding activities and interacting with their students.
Webinar Wed Sept 13, 2017 10:30 am 
Workshop Thur Sept 14, 2017 1:30 pm 

Word Formatting Basics

Please join us to go over some tips and tricks for formatting in Microsoft Word.
Webinar Wed Sept 20, 2017 1:30 pm 
Workshop Thur Sept 21, 2017 10:30 am 

Google Drive

Google Drive is a great set of tools to promote collaboration and facilitate editing and grading of documents, presentations and spreadsheets. Participants will learn the technical skills to use Slides, Sheets and Docs.
Webinar Thur Sept 28, 2017 1:30 pm 
Workshop Wed Sept 27, 2017 10:30 am 

Security Best Practices

Help us kick-off National Cyber Security Awareness Month with a review of some security best practices and resources.
Webinar Mon Oct 2, 2017 1:30 pm 
Workshop Thur Oct 5, 2017 10:30 am 

Zoom Basics

Join us to learn more about scheduling Zoom meetings, as well as for tips to run a successful web conference.
Webinar Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:30 am 
Workshop Thur Oct 12, 2017 1:30 pm 

Excel Basics

Please join us for a look at the formulas, cell references, auto fill, sort and filter, and freeze panes features of Microsoft Excel.
Webinar Thur Oct 19, 2017 10:30 am 
Workshop Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:30 pm 

Appointments with Google Calendar

Join us for a look at using Google Calendar to manage your advising appointments. We will also talk a bit about virtual appointments.
Webinar Thur Oct 26, 2017 1:30 pm 
Workshop Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:30 am 

Surviving a Zombie Apocalypse

Join us as we plan how to stay alive after Drew is taken over by zombies using custom, shareable Google maps and other Google apps.
Please note: Both of these sessions will be held in-person.
Wed Nov 1, 2017 1:30 pm 
Thur Nov 2, 2017 10:30 am 

Excel IF AND OR Functions

Look at the IF, AND, OR, SUMIF, and IFERROR functions in Excel.
Webinar Wed Nov 8, 2017 10:30 am 
Workshop Thur Nov 9, 2017 1:30 pm 

Google Forms

Google Forms is an innovative tool that can be used many ways in the classroom. Gathering information from students, assessing student understanding and gathering data are the most popular ways Forms can be used in the classroom. In this workshop, you will learn all the basic technical skills needed to implement this tool, especially to enhance course curriculum.
Webinar Thur Nov 16, 2017 1:30 pm 
Workshop Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:30 am 

Poster Design Basics

Come in for a discussion of designing posters, using products like PowerPoint, Publisher, or Canva. We will touch on some requirements for printing in the ITC, looking forward to end-of-semester poster projects!
Webinar Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:30 pm 
Workshop Thur Nov 30, 2017 10:30 am 

If you can’t make the above workshops, or have a question after reviewing online materials, please make an appointment for an individual session by calling the UT Service Center at (973) 408-4357 (or by dialing HELP from your Drew phone).