Maintaining Drew University’s 186 acres and 1,221,729 square feet of buildings is a commitment to service that requires the hard work and dedication of almost 100 custodial and maintenance workers. Yes, we mow the lawn, trim the trees, plant the flowers, line the athletic fields, keep the lights on, control building climates, take out the garbage, clean the bathrooms, wash the windows, move furniture, unlock doors, and even change light bulbs, but Facilities is also responsible for upgrading dorms, installing fire sprinklers, restoring facades, remodeling conference rooms and shared spaces, managing the construction of new buildings, recycling programs, and energy management.

Who are we? We are more than just a new light bulb.

Staff Listing

Name Title Email Telephone
Michael Kopas Executive Director of Facilities mkopas@drew.edu 3580
Patricia Smith Associate Director of Facilities and Quality Assurance psmith3@drew.edu 3155
James Hall Director, Planning, Design and Construction jhall@drew.edu 3006
Joseph String Business Operations Manager. jstring@drew.edu 3237
Mark Ostapczuk Director of Environmental, Health and Safety mostapczuk@drew.edu 3079
Stephanie McCormick Service Response Manager smccormick@drew.edu 3007
Christina Notas Sustainability Coordinator cnotas@drew.edu 3660
Cynthia Gates Administrative Assistant cgates1@drew.edu 3877
Jim Brown Locksmith jwbrown@drew.edu 3896
Peter M. Wocial Plant Operations Manager pwocial@drew.edu 3493
Sergio Ramirez Custodial Manager sramirez1l@drew.edu 3032
Benjamin Molina Grounds Manager bmolina@drew.edu 3510
Kevin Healy Mailroom/Shipping & Receiving Manager khealy@drew.edu 3412
Pedro Castilo Maintenance Technician facilities@drew.edu 3510
Robert Linden Maintenance Technician facilities@drew.edu 3510
Dede Pepaj Maintenance Technician facilities@drew.edu 3510
Brian Runyon Maintenance Technician facilities@drew.edu 3510

Department Contacts

Service Response Desk (Mon-Fri, 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM): (973) 408-3510
Office Fax: (973) 408-3679
Emergency Work Orders, after 5:00pm and on weekends or holidays: (973) 408-3379 (Public Safety)
Work Order Submission Online Service Request