General Information

Sigma Tau Delta is the International English Honor Society.  A  member of the Association of College Honor Societies, it was founded in 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan University.

The Society strives to:

  • Confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies;
  • Provide, through its local chapters, cultural stimulation on college campuses and promote interest in literature and the English language in surrounding communities;
  • Foster all aspects of the discipline of English, including literature, language, and writing;
  • Promote exemplary character and good fellowship among  its members;
  • Exhibit high standards of academic excellence; and
  • Serve society by fostering literacy.

With over 750 active chapters located in Europe, the Caribbean, and the United States, there are more than 1,000 faculty  sponsors, and approximately 8,500 members inducted annually.

Sigma Tau Delta Oath

I shall endeavor to advance the study of literary masterpieces, to encourage worthwhile reading, to promote the mastery of written expression, and to foster a spirit of fellowship among those who specialize in the study of the English language and literature, ever keeping in mind our international motto: Sincerity, Truth, Design.

Drew Chapter Information

Membership Information

The $65 Induction Fee includes lifetime memberships in Sigma Tau Delta and in the Chapter Organization, Alpha Pi Omega with all the privileges that accompany membership (see below).  It also includes a Sigma Tau Delta membership certificate, Honors Society Pin, and a Sigma Tau Delta Honors Sash to be worn at Graduation.  Inductees are chosen and invited to join Sigma Tau Delta, Alpha Phi Omega in the Spring of each school year.  Note:  If you would like to apply for a needs-based scholarship to offset some of the cost of membership, please send a copy of your CV and a brief statement of need to

Membership Opportunities & Benefits

Upon admittance into Sigma Tau Delta, you will receive a letter of acceptance and will then be required to pay a one-time fee of $65.  This fee provides you:

  • lifetime membership in Sigma Tau Delta and the campus chapter, Alpha Pi Omega
  • a membership certificate and lapel pin
  • a one-year semi-annual subscription to the Newsletter, The Rectangle, and The Sigma Tau Delta Review
  • the right to apply for scholarship, internship, and writing award opportunities from the STD website
  • an invitation to submit papers for possible publication in The Rectangle and The Sigma Tau Delta Review
  • an invitation to submit papers or panel discussion for possible presentation at an annual international convention
  • the right to apply for the opportunity to serve on an international Board of Directors as a Student Advisor or Representative
  • the privilege of listing Sigma Tau Delta on your resume
  • an honor sash to wear with your graduation robe (included in induction fee)
  • your name listed in the graduation booklet as a member of the honor society

Membership Requirements

Drew’s Sigma Tau Delta chapter Alpha Pi Omega is open to English Majors and Minors.  The English department considers the following criteria when inviting students to join the honors society:

  • over all GPA
  • GPA within the Major/Minor
  • courses completed within the Major/Minor

News & Events

Sigma Tau Delta Annual International Convention

Sigma Tau Delta Regional Events

Scholarships, Awards, Grants, and Internships

Current Sigma Tau Delta Officers

  • Morissa Schwartz, President
  • Michael Collina, Vice President
  • Emma Levin, Secretary
  • Tim Watkins, Historian
  • Vanessa Gibbs, Programming Coordinator





Joana D. Bastos
Jessica C. Brown
Erin A. Carroll *
Katharine M. Conwell *
Nicole D. Entwistle
Danielle Firavanti*
Stacy N. Lewis
Shaina A. Mirsky
Erin R. Newell *
Jennie M. Ocker-Sevick
Renee Oscilowski
Samantha M. Pritchard
Mary R. Richmond *
Chelsea S. Rowe
Steffi M. Schamberger

* Founding Members

Allison Michele Abbott
Kirstin E. Bethavas
Alexi Rose Brennan
John Justin Dabrowski
Elizabeth Ann Ferrara
Alicia Forero
Steven James Graboski
Michele Lynn Jasterzbski
Gaelan N. Johnson
Dana Courtney Lenoir
Jonathan Ortiz
James William Robinson
Briana Eve Romanelli
Mary Katherine Rowland
Anna Jung Sohn
Cara D. Swan
Eden G. Williams
Shuruq M. Alfawair
Kathleen Michelle Burke
Linda Rose Burke
Melissa Anne Caparruva
Benjamin Larkin Day
Jennifer Beth Dreifuss
Ashlie R. Fautz
Jacob Paul Hazle-Cary
Julie Ann Liss
Shandra Ellen McManus
Mallory Louise Mortillaro
Victoria M. Russell
Danielle Leigh Walker
Zakiyyah Jamine Wiley




Abby J. Brinn
Kayla Ferreira
Sarah Elizabeth Gawle
Victoria J. Ghilardi
Rachel E. Goldman
Michael Taylor Hardgrove
Mariel A. Hooper
Hanna K. Jrad
Kashon N. Lopes
Caitlin Olivia Mattera
Kathryn M. McMillan
Hassan Naqvi
Francine E. Odri
Anthony Michael Perez
Jonathan M. Rizzi
Kristy Lee C. Vanderhoof
Mariel Caputo
Caitlin Cromley
Saara DeAngelis-Jimenez
Laura Falotico
Kristina Farmer
Lakota Gulick
Evelyn Meisenbacher
Inez Neto
Shanna Salvador
Eve Sanoussi
Karen Timko
Alicia Whavers
Leah Zarra
Gabriella Bisconti
Michael Collina
Taylor Dreiss
Vanessa Gibbs
Emma Levin
Claudia Martinez
Michelle Opdyke
Christopher Recio
Morissa Schwartz
Timothy Watkins