Please join the Center for Civic Engagement in Congratulating the 2015 winners of Drew University’s Civic Engagement Awards:

Faculty Leadership Award

The Faculty Leadership Award is awarded to a full-time faculty member in any school of Drew University who has demonstrated commitment to civic engagement through advocacy, teaching, or project development.

  • Professor Debra Liebowitz, Professor of Political Science & Women & Gender’s Studies
  • Professor Chris Ceraso, Professor of Theatre

Staff Leadership Award

The Staff Leadership Award is awarded to a full-time staff member who has developed or supported opportunities for the Drew community to participate in activities that benefit others

  • Frank Merckx, Dean of Students

Collaborative Action Award

The Collaborative Action Award is awarded to a student organization or community partner that leads an effective collaboration with the university to accomplish a community service project outside the university.

  • Mayor Robert Conley, Borough of Madison
  • Jim Burnet, Assistant Borough Administrator Borough of Madison

Ben Salmon Award

The Ben Salmon Service Recognition Award was created by the Volunteer Resource Center (VRC) to honor those students who enhance the campus through volunteerism, extra-curricular involvement and off-campus service. The award’s standards were set to reflect those of the VRC’s student founder, Ben Salmon (CLA ’03).

  • Kia Bourdot C’15

The Graduate Student Community Action Award

The Graduate Student Community Action Award is awarded to a student enrolled in the Theological School or the Caspersen School of Graduate Studies who has benefited a community outside of Drew by integrating an academic or creative endeavor with community engagement.

  • Stephanie Weymouth C’15

Creative Community Award

The Creative Community Award is awarded to an individual or group in the Drew University community that shows unusual creativity or innovation in pursuit of a community service or civic engagement project benefiting a community outside of Drew.

  • Samantha Weckesser C’15
  • Kate Fisher C’15

Thomas D. Sayles Jr. Student Award for Outstanding Service to the Community

Thomas D. Sayles Jr. Student Award for Outstanding Service to the Community is awarded annually to up to two junior undergraduate students, who, like the award’s namesake, have demonstrated an exceptional commitment and unselfish dedication to Drew and to the larger community through exemplary service.

  • Alyssa Petersen C’16
  • Najah Johnson C’16