Black background with various assistance

Federal Community Service Program

Are you work-study qualified?

The FCSP allows qualified Drew undergraduate students to apply some or all of their work study funds to earn an hourly wage working for pre-approved community service agencies.  If the work is related to the student’s field of study, Academic Internship Program credit can simultaneously be earned for this experience. Verification of workstudy eligibility must be determined through the Office of Financial Assistance prior to beginning the internship.

Internship Awards

Guidelines and Application:

Note: not all of the awards described below are available every term; funds will be distributed based upon availability per term

Jeannette V. Balber Endowment

Endowed in 2005 by Andrew E. Balber, to honor the long-time efforts and widely-appreciated and abiding interest of his mother, Jeannette V. Balber, in Madison and Morris County public service and Democratic Party politics and to continue the vital tradition of grassroots politics that she embodied.  Awarded to students engaged in internships in Morris County at the county or local municipal level.

Note: Students applying to this award must contact Debra Liebowitz or Patrick McGuinn in the Political Science Department for specific application requirements.


A. David Brown Endowment

Endowed by A. David Brown, University Trustee, to assist the work of Drew University’s Center for Internships and Career Development through support of internship stipends and special projects.  Please note that internship awards are not currently available from this fund for the 2014 – 2015 academic year. 
(Administered by Center for Internships and Career Development)


Vivian A. Bull CECM Emerging Leaders Fellows Program

Established in honor of Vivian A. Bull, who served as President from 2012-2014 by the Chief Executive Council for Madison (CECM), by a coalition of senior executives living in or leading large corporations in Madison. A Drew upperclassman will be selected by the Drew President to support the CECM during the academic year, represent the University in the community, and foster collaboration between the University, the Borough of Madison, and local corporations. Please note that internship awards are not currently available from this fund for the 2014 – 2015 academic year.


The John T. Cunningham Internship for Excellence in Journalism

Established in 2010 by Michael K. Smullen C’03, to promote journalistic excellence in the community at large, and in University-related publications; to attract prospective students who have an affinity for journalism; and to benefit students who dedicate significant time and effort to producing excellent journalism and who are interesting in pursuing careers in journalism after graduation.


John H. Ewing Center for Public Service

Established in 1997 by Professor of Political Science Julius Mastro and colleagues and friends of New Jersey State Senator John Ewing.  To provide support for community engagement, internships and other experiences (such as conferences and workshops) for students interested in public service careers in federal, state, and local governments, and non-profit groups.
(Administered by Political Science Department)


The Helen C. Fenske Internship Fund

Endowed in 2007 by Arthur G. Fenske P’74, P’78, Karl A. Fenske C’74, Susan Fenske McDonough C’78, Mark Fenske, friends and colleagues in memory of Helen C. Fenske, conservation pioneer and environmental activist.  Awarded to students pursuing an internship in environmental studies, sustainability, or public policy pertaining to these issues.(Administered by Environmental Studies & Sustainability)


Mary Hepburn Internship in Civic Engagement

Endowed in 2012 by Mary Hepburn C’54, to support students participating in academic internships involving substantive engagement with the community.
(Administered by Center for Internships and Career Development)


Thomas H. Kean Government Internship Program

Established by Thomas H. Kean, 10th President of Drew University, this is awarded to students who are interested in a career in government or public service and who have been chosen to participate in unpaid internships with an NGO, think tank, international organization, political party, candidate for office, or government office or agency during the summer.  Through the internship program, students receive a stipend, namely for political science majors and minors.

NoteStudents applying to this award must contact Debra Liebowitz or Patrick McGuinn in the Political Science Department for specific application requirements.(Administered by Political Science Department)


Thomas H. Kean Internship in Public Policy Endowment

Endowed in 2013 by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in honor of Thomas H. Kean. To support student internship experiences that provide a real-world introduction to public policy, with a strong emphasis on health and health care policy. Awarded to students who are studying public health, political science, sociology, anthropology, economics, and/or related fields and who have a demonstrated interest in exploring a professional career in public policy and health policy.


Lundbeck Internship Fund

To support internships for science students. Please note that internship awards are not currently available from this fund for the 2014 – 2015 academic year.


McEvoy Internship Endowment

Endowed in 2012 by The Nan T. McEvoy Foundation Fund to help qualified students participate in professional internships in the fields of media, publishing, and communications. The internship stipend is awarded annually to qualified students who demonstrate financial need.
(Administered by Center for Internships and Career Development)


Joseph Patenaude Theatre Internship

Established in 2007 by Thomas H. Kean, 10th President of Drew University and named in memory of Joe Patenaude, beloved long-time Professor of Theatre.  Awarded to students who are interested in a career in theatre and have chosen to participate in unpaid internships with professional theatres.  Deadline to apply has been extended to March 18, 2015 (for Summer 2015 internships).
(Administered by Theatre Department)  


Thomas D. Sayles, Jr. Internship Award

Established in 2007 by the Page Hill Foundation in memory of Drew Trustee Thomas D. Sayles, Jr., honoring his concern for Drew students and his dedication to the Drew community. Awarded to students who otherwise might be unable to participate in an unpaid credit internship.
(Administered by Center for Internships and Career Development) 


Robert G. Smith Endowment for Experiential Learning

Established in 2013, by alumni, family, and friends to honor Professor Robert G. Smith C’36 and celebrate his legacy as an innovative educator who had a remarkable impact on shaping the intellectual and professional growth of his students. To support students and experiential learning opportunities, including internships, with a focus on sectors, such as municipal finance, public policy and administration and law, which Professor Smith brought to life for generations of Drew students and alumni.


John M. Warner Writing Endowed Internship

Created in 2010 by The Casement Fund Ltd. to honor Professor Emeritus John M. Warner as an exemplary teacher of English literature and language. The John M. Warner Writing Internship Endowment will provide Drew students of English with stipends to support undergraduate academic internships in New York City in industries related to writing.
(Administered by English Department)


NJ Transit Student Discount Ticket

Save money on your commute from Drew by applying for a monthly pass student discount. Internships must be unpaid and through the school as part of a program to obtain a degree.   Official documentation of student’s current eligibility must be provided by Drew prior to purchase for discount to be applied. Go to for policy details.