Béla Kornitzer Book Awards Presented at Library Gala

Congratulations to Professor Leslie Sprout and Christopher Klein, C‘94, winners of the Béla Kornitzer awards for outstanding non-fiction books.  Non-fiction books published in 2013, 2014 and 2015 were eligible for the competition.  Two prizes were awarded—one to a member of the Drew Faculty and one to a Drew graduate.

The awards were presented at the January 30, 2016 biennial Library Gala by Noémi K. Neidorff, who paid tribute to her uncle and to her parents who established the award in his name.

Faculty Awardmusic-war-france

Dr. Leslie A. Sprout, Associate Professor of Music

The Musical Legacy of Wartime France
(University of California Press, 2013)

Alumni/ae Award

Christopher Klein C’94


Strong Boy: The Life and Times of John L. Sullivan, America’s First Sports Hero
 (Lyons Press, 2013)

The Kornitzer Prize Endowment was established twenty-three years ago by the late Alicia Kornitzer Karpati and her husband George Karpati to honor Béla Kornitzer, Mrs. Karpati’s brother, for his achievements as a journalist and author in Hungary and the United States.  The Drew University Library houses among its special collections the Béla Kornitzer Collection.  The award includes a $2,000 prize.

Sent on: Feb 2, 2016

Planning ahead?

Feel free to post content in Drew Today—or suggest it for Drew This Week—related to events happening in early August and beyond.